Getting older, wiser and smarter

Mmmm…brilliant. I’ve found myself feeling my age. I’m 29 years old, making the home stretch to my thirties. I’ve found myself on the harder side of getting older, the one where you can only relate so much to those that are younger. Ideas are different, priorities pretty much polarizing and my thoughts nowhere near their own. I’m at the age (there’s a cliche right there) where I don’t need to be entertained, and I’ve always been very much a homebody. That really isn’t great for those that are more extroverted than I am.

You have to realize that not everyone’s going to like you. It now has to be about realizing where I was and who I was when I was younger and not just assuming bad things about the other person. Getting older means getting a bit worldlier, even if it’s not so obvious to everyone else. There’s a lot of introspective thinking and personal realizations involved. And you have to do the work. And also, not everyone wants to hear it. Think about how much you need to say to yourself, and how much you want to to hear it before you share it for others. Don’t forget that not everyone’s on the same page as you, and not everyone cares.

I think because I don’t have children yet I have the time I need to mentally get to where I need to be. I’ve wanted that time. I haven’t been at the place where I wanted to consider parenthood. I still think I need a bit more time- depending on the day, at least. Being self-involved can only go on for so long, so I might as well enjoy it while it lasts. I often worry that everything I write comes across as self-involved and very selfish and maybe even precocious. Everything’s all “me, me, me”….but wouldn’t it be? I don’t have children, and this blog is meant to be personal, if not too personal. I could write about anything I want, right? Maybe my second guessing on how much what I write should be about myself is itself a sign of my growing up. We’ll see. First off is finding a nice way to sync my adulthood with still being and feeling young and having fun while taking on more adult-type aspects and responsibilities.I mean, where’s the fun in getting older if I don’t enjoy it, right?

2 responses to “Getting older, wiser and smarter

  1. Thank you for any other fantastic post. The place else may anyone get that kind of information in such a perfect means of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I am on the search for such information.

Leave a Reply

