Progress

Image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

In the past month or so, I’ve been to a couple of baseball games, saw gay marriage become an inevitability in neighboring New York state, changed up my writer’s website and made plans for moving to a bigger apartment. I also made it through a pretty big scare with my dog Molly (she’s back to warrior mode, don’t worry), had some good times with friends and thought about my future. Where do you go at 28, in the beginnings of what hopefully becomes a thriving career, while you’re waiting for the next big thing? You enjoy where you are, where you’ve been, and look forward for what’s to come.

My plans for the immediate future include more writing, working, moving, baseball and good times. Ready for the geek out? The final installment of the Harry Potter series comes out in theaters next Friday, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows- Part Two. It’s exciting to see good stories end, especially when you know you’re going to love the finish. There’s nothing cooler than fighting the good fight, saving the day and watching women get in the fight. Are you ready for fiesty? Check out the antics of Mrs. Weasly in this film. You never mess with anybody’s mama.

As I begin my move into a bigger space, I’m looking forward to a quieter workspace, one away from my living room. My writing’s suffered as of late, mostly because of the distractions of the summer. It’s easy to do what you have to; I’m just at a position where I have push myself to work more. Thank the heavens for writing buddies. As much as I want to have fun, I do need to work to have the means to pay for it, so it’s time to seriously buckle down.

Writing is the main part of buckling down- if I want to make this more of a business, I have to work on the business. I have to work on the product as well. It’s time to spread my writing wings, and show off what I got. As much as I love to talk about writing, it’s time to do it more. Talk about my own cliche. I do write alot, but it doesn’t feel like enough. And that has to be a great thing. Writing-induced sleepiness, anyone?

Leave a Reply

